top of page
  • Writer's pictureJRFC

Get along to catch 'Beaver'!

A big thank you, first and foremost!

It has been a challenging year on many levels on the back of Covid-19, however, we appreciate all the hard work and support that has gone into keeping this club ticking over this year. On the field was tough in terms of participation and only fielding 4 teams, however, it was probably one of the best on and off field seasons for our Premier and Premier Reserves in some time. A great culture existed across the playing sides and we hope we can only build on this heading into next year.

A massive thanks needs to go our players, managers and coaches for their commitment in a very much challenging season along with our sponsors, members and those volunteers continuing to assist the club! We certainly hope to be back into a more standard type environment next season, however, we cannot be complacent with Covid-19.


Inaugural JRFC Fundraiser - Next Friday - Friday 23 October

We unfortunately had a change in plans with Stu Wilson, however, have secured an amazing line up for next week's event.

Former All Black Stephen 'Beaver' Donald is our main guest with Andre Neil (TAB) as Master of Ceremonies. We are hoping for an appearance from 'Steel Balls', the former best punter in NZ who certainly took some risks in his time!

We have plenty of entertainment, auctions and raffles on show also. There are still tickets available, so get in touch to secure a table / ticket! More details below:


And the Winner's are!

We brought down the curtain on the 2020 season with a superb prizegiving at the club recently. A great night was had by all! A massive congratulations to all the prize / trophy winners:


1. A.L Brider Cup PERRY BARBER

2. Laurie Cameron Memorial Cup SUSAN POUTOA & PERRY BARBER


4. Twiss Wharakura & Lyn Farnsworth Cup NIALL DELAHUNT & MARK SUTTON


6. Segetin Cup TRINA MILLER

7. Kenny Cup OFA UESELI

8. Hallenstein’s Trophy Team Contribution PREMIERS

9. Committee Cup: Coach of the Year ROY KINIKINILAU

10. Chairperson’s Shield CRIPPLES


11. Most Improved BODENE DAVIS

12. Most Promising Back MARK SUTTON

13. Most Promising Forward PJ SHECK

14. Best and Fairest SAMII MOCEICAKAU

15. Players Player ANDY ELLIS


1. Scotty Bowl Premiers Reserve Player of the TU JACKSON GREENLAND

2. JPM Cup: Best and Fairest Reserve Grade Player TAYNE LAIRD MAHU

3. Most Points Reserve Grade TAINA HETET

4. Selkirk Cup Most Tries TYSON SAVAI’I

5. Cedric Tairoa Memorial Cup: Best Personality Cripples KUA PALAKUA

6. 1841 Shield Cripple of the Year HYRUM VAI

7. 1841 Shield Most Improved Cripple JORDAN WARU

8. Green Horn of the Year SCOTT WIKLIN



10. Most Points Age Grade KYLIE CUMMINGS

11. Most Tries Age Grade KYLIE CUMMINGS

12. Luff Trophy: Most Dedicated Age Group MAXI MORRONE

13. Harris Trophy: Most Improved Age Grade KIERAN MEE

14. Morar Cup: Best and Fairest Back FREDDY GUTTENBEIL

15. Best and Fairest Age Grade Forward TUNUI ELLIS & KALYM MATENGA

16. Callesen & Hutton Cup: Player of the Year: Age Grade LUCAS AUKUSO

17. Millichip Cup: Best Team Member CALEB CUMMINGS


18. Most/Top Tries for Open Grade SEAN WICHMAN

19. Pressies Trophy: Best Pressie ASH McPHERSON

20. Pressies Cup: Pressies Player of the Year TIM ELDER

The 'Irish Jig' Mark Sutton and Niall Delahunt receiving the Twiss Wharakura / Lyn Farnsworth Cup.

The trophy winning mighty Cripples together as one! Morty featuring in the background again.

A huge shout out needs to go to outgoing Head Coach Roy Kinikinilau who is going to be committing more time to his family life. Roy brought an incredible amount of professionalism and culture to the fold in 2020 and he will be sadly missed. We hope to see him back around the club in 2021!


Academy 2020 Launch

On Monday we had our Academy launch for 2020! It is extremely exciting to have around 35 registered and our 2nd year looks to build on a really solid platform laid in 2019.

A massive shout out to Joe Gates on the charge again as Academy Lead, Hiko Davies, Wes Klopper, Mo Mackey, Sophie Gates, Susan Poutoa, Serge Hollis, Kris Love and the others involved with getting this kicked off. It was awesome to see some of our current Premier's down there for the kick off. The first academy session kicks off this coming Monday at the club!

A couple of snaps from the induction session on Monday.


A couple of other quick notes:

The Ambassador 7's series kicks off in November. We have seen some great numbers along to this for the club and we are currently working out whether we field two sides possibly. A massive shout out to Esava Tiko, Kua Palakua, Hiko Davies, Susan Poutoa and Lauren Hannah with driving this years campaign.

We have recently installed CCTV cameras at the club. We have 7 cameras from inside the clubrooms and greenroom to outside the club. A big step forward for our safety and security around the club. A massive thanks to Taina Hetet for his assistance getting these installed!

242 views0 comments
bottom of page